Databases

Learn A Test - ACT, SAT, TOEFL, CLEP, GED test preparation and more!  Also find information on various careers, workplace skills and job searching.

  • New users: create a registration using your library card number as your username and create a password.

Live Homework Help - a professional online tutor whenever you need help. You work one-to-one with your tutor in our online classroom on your specific homework problem until it's done.

Alabama Virtual Library - provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources.

Legal Forms - the most extensive free forms site available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

Health: Salem Press - Salem Health brings online access to Salem Press’ health reference works.  The material presented on Salem Health is intended for broad informational and educational purposes only.  Salem Health is not to be considered definitive on the covered topics, and readers should remember that the field of health care is characterized by a diversity of medical opinions and constant expansion in knowledge and understanding.

History: Salem Press - an online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets.  Salem currently offers this service with four series of historical reference: The Decades, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, and Milestone Documents.  Also available are several important, stand-alone historical reference sets, including: Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society, Great Athletes, Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, Musicians & Composers, Survey of American Industry & Careers and Weapons & Warfare.

Encyclopedia of Alabama - free, online resource on Alabama history, culture, geography, and natural environment. This site offers articles on Alabama's famous people, historic events, sports, art, literature, industry, government, plant and animal life, agriculture, recreation, and so much more.

Virtual Reference Library - source for eReference aimed at the needs of students, researchers, professionals and general readers. Now you can offer more than 7,000 authoritative, full-text titles—from Gale and a host of premier publishing partners—within 18 subject areas researchers study most.

Overdrive - Downloadable ebooks, audiobooks, and streaming videos that can be read or viewed from your computer and personal devices such as Kindles, Nooks, Sony Readers, Kobo readers, iPads, iPhones, Android based devices and more. You can also download audiobooks that can be listened to from your computer and transferred to your personal devices.

Freegal - A downloadable music service, like iTunes, available from your library. All you need is your library card number and PIN. With access to the Sony Music Entertainment catalog, it offers hundreds of thousands of songs, more than 100 genres of music, and more than 50 record labels. No special software is needed to use the service, and there are no digital rights management restrictions.

Zinio - Through the TPL website, patrons of the Tuscaloosa Public Library have unlimited multi-user access to complete digital magazines, which can easily be viewed on most Internet-enabled devices inside or outside of the library. Zinio’s unique technology digitally recreates a magazine page for page, including full color pictures, intuitive navigation, key word article search and interactive elements such as audio and video. National Geographic, Cosmopolitan, Rolling Stone, and Popular Science are just a few of the 58 popular titles available. All for free.

Rocket Languages - An interactive online language learning system. The multi-faceted, comprehensive system allows patrons to learn conversational language at their own pace. The DRM-free program allows patrons to fully utilize Rocket Language's easy to access downloadable lessons, games and more. Patrons continue to access their program until they determine they have completed the course.

TumbleBooks

TumbleBookLibrary - for kids;  an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.

TumbleBookCloud Jr. - for middle and high school readers; an online collection of ebooks and read-along chapter books, graphic novels, educational videos, and audio books! All books are available with unlimited access, all the time, from any device with an internet connection.

Genealogy

Heritage Quest - a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.  A collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past.

Ancestry Library Edition - Not available from  home; Different from a personal subscription, Ancestry Library Edition gives access to genealogical records of individuals from North America, the UK, Europe, Australia, and more.  Making available sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.

Foundation Center Cooperating Collection

Foundation Directory Online professional - Allows you to search 95,000+ foundations; 3,600 corporate givers and grant making public charities, as well as a file of 1.6 million grants from the largest foundations.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online - An online database of more than 6,500+ foundations and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers and other individual grant seekers.

Philanthropy In/Sight - In/Sight combines the Foundation Center's rich data on grant makers and their grants with familiar Google maps to tell the story of philanthropy. Choosing from a wide range of customization options, users can quickly create maps that reveal patterns of giving and funding relationships.


TPL Library Card

We Like..

Skinner
by Charlie Huston

Latest Photos